GSA®-Basics

Glued-in threaded rods are among the most powerful connectors in modern timber construction engineering. Whether glued in parallel or perpendicular to the grain direction, powerful forces can be applied in small areas of the wooden components. In conjunction with Professor Ernst Gehri, neue Holzbau AG (n’H) has been conducting research in this area since the late 1990s. Under the brand name “GSA® Technology”, a range of solutions has since been developed which are being successfully applied in various timber frameworks all over the world.
Wood, resin and steel form an interlocking system, requiring the harmonisation of the three components’ properties. Certain rules and conditions must be complied with if optimum connections are to be created. To avoid any brittle failure modes of either the wood or the adhesive, connections must be designed such that the steel rods (ductile) fail in the ultimate limit state.
This page explains the basics on which the high performances in the GSA® design tables are based.

Tender specifications

In construction practice, tender specifications must often strive for product neutrality. The tender specifications for the GSA® Technology were thus developed according to this principle. Ideally, planners primarily define the required connection forces and the associated dimensions. Since further requirements regarding material, fire safety and humidity may have a significant impact, they are included in the introductory text relating to the respective connections. In addition, the general Terms and conditions can be included in the first section of the specifications.
The Download section contains our entire collection both as an excel file and as an import for the SIA 451 interface. → Example of a simple connection: Truss posts

Requirements

The current standards applying to structural components require framework planners to make various classifications.

Consequence class 1-3 judges the scope of damage when a construction fails. This allows for the deduction of project engineering and implementation parameters. A further aspect consists of the stress type (service category 1-2). In line with common practice in the structural engineering sector, the information provided in this document generally applies to static and quasi-static actions (snow, wind, structural loads in buildings and seismic action, ‘non-ductile’). Cyclical (seismic action, ‚ductile’) and dynamic stresses (fatigue: cranes, live loads, etc.) may also require closer consideration in the planning of glued-in threaded rods. For these applications, steel with special properties may be expedient or even necessary.

Maximum selection of the requirements is not always necessary in the various application modes. Accordingly, the prerequisites associated with a tender in the higher production categories should be more extensive and controls should be more consistent. As regards the production of components with glued-in threaded rods, we therefore suggest the following classification matrix:

Production CategoryRequirements applying to productionApplication situations
– example
PC 1lowReinforcement ⊥ to grain:
– lateral pressure in the support
– transverse tension in connections and curved components
– notches
– breakthroughs (dimensioning acc. to standards)
Individual rods ‖ to grain:
– purlin on posts
PC 2normalSmall groups (n≤4) ‖ to grain exclusively with normal force:
– wall fastenings
– high-tensile struts
more complex applications ⊥ to grain:
– wood-concrete compound
– large breakthroughs (ALP)
– shear reinforcements
PC 3highGroup of rods ‖ to grain with normal force and curvature:
– Frame corners
– bend-proof girder joints and column bases
– timber frames

Performance

Today, materials and even entire frameworks are made to deliver high performance. Since in German, the term ‘performance’ has several meanings, it would be more precise to use the term ‘efficiency factor’ as a measurement of connection performance.

Hence, high-performance constructions distinguish themselves through the fact that they need relatively low material volumes (cross-section area) to meet the applicable requirements. As regards connections, there is always the question by how much they reduce the load resistance or the rigidity of the undisturbed component. The example of a pure tensile splice clearly illustrates this point. The gross area of the cross section times the tensile strength equals the load resistance of the component (100%). This is juxtaposed with the load resistance of the connector group.

Hence the efficiency factor η can always be calculated from the achieved connection resistance in relation to the respective gross cross section. Most wood connections require some processing that weakens the gross cross section. In the case of glued-in threaded rods, the borehole and any vent holes must be deducted in the calculation of the net cross section. The geometrical conditions of the GSA® Technology allow for an efficiency factor of approx. 85 %. This weakening in the connection area can be compensated through the local use of superior wood. The following illustration therefore shows ‘impossibly’ high utilisation grades for the stated strength classes. It presents a comparison based on a group of four glued-in threaded rods in horizontal timber. The information relates to humidity class 1. It quickly becomes clear that a tight arrangement of anchors is important to guarantee efficient connection performance. Compared to the approved minimum measurements, larger edge distances and interspaces may sometimes be necessary in real-life construction. Consult our ‘Pre-dimensioning’ chapters in the various GSA applications (for instance: Timber frames).

The stated performance is based on trials involving representative connections (group of glued-in rods). This was facilitated by research of the following parameters:
– angle between rod and grain direction
– hole diameter, rod diameter, glue-in length, recess, edge distances and interspaces
– type of wood, strength class, gross density, wood humidity
– steel quality and profiling
– properties of the adhesive

Compound of wood, resin and steel

The Ph. D theses written by Andrea Bernasconi (1996) and Alessandro Fabris (2001) at ETH Zurich laid an important foundation for the gluing of threaded rods into load-bearing wood components.

They established the concept that force is transferred mechanically between resin and steel as a matter of principle. Suitable bonding resins may have adhesive joints of several millimetres’ thickness. However, it has been pointed out that the type of rod profiling has an important impact on load-carrying capacity. M threads turned out to be perfect for any combination with the current GSA resin. However, subsequent research showed that the resin strength is not a given in higher temperatures (up to 60°C). Consequently, not every resin that works in cold short-term trials is suitable in practical application. If the adhesive is sufficiently powerful, failure occurs in the hole walls (transition from resin to wood). Maximum efficient bonding requires both a very high surface quality of the borehole walls and trained staff to ensure faultless installation.

The following model concepts have been developed on the subject of shear stresses and their course: the course depends on the ratio between Esteel and Ewood. To keep matters simple, the resin is assumed to be rigid. The expansions of the resin are thus consistent with those of the steel. In horizontal timber, the rigidity ratios lead to stress peaks in the end sections of the adhesive joint. Distortion (tolerance) results in transverse stresses which have an unfavourable effect on the wood’s shear strength. This complex stress condition is considered to be the reason why the load-bearing capacity of a glued-in rod does not increase on a straight-line basis. Recessing the effective adhesive joint in the component has a positive effect since this increases the volume of wood that is subject to transverse tension. The discovery that the hoop tension is a direct function of the rod diameter is another important finding. Consequently, results from trials on small rods cannot simply be transferred to larger diameters.
In applications involving crossbars, it may be assumed that shear stresses are distributed evenly. Thanks to the high rigidity ratio, a longer rod achieves a higher depth effect.

Parallel or perpendicular to the grain direction

The various types of failure have different levels of importance depending on whether the rods were glued in parallel or perpendicular to the grain direction.

Glued-in threaded rods achieve maximum effect when their loading is as axial as possible. This document therefore focuses exclusively on stresses in shaft direction. According to standard SIA 265:2012 (item 6.10.2.1), proof of structural safety is generally to be provided in respect of:
– failure of the profiled rod
– failure of the adhesive and its bond with the profiled rod and the wood
– failure of the wood along the adhesive joint
– failure of a wooden component in the area of the joint

According to standard SIA 265, the same values may be used for both pressure force and tensile force application. This approach is certainly on the safe side. Tensile stress parallel to the grain thus represents the biggest challenge.

eingeklebter Anker im Längsholz

Application parallel to grain: 0° ≤ α < 30°

The state of equilibrium between the force in the threaded rod and the normal stresses in the cross section of the wood is achieved via shear stress parallel (II) to the grain direction (II).
The circular cone has a low all-round expansion since the shear module (G) is much smaller than the E module along the grain direction (E0). From this consideration, it follows that:
– the ‘activatable area of the wood area’ at the rod end is limited.
– excessive anchor spacing does not improve this.
– many small rods facilitate the optimum distribution of forces. Proof of the net cross section of the wood at the end of the rods is always required. In many cases, the use of higher strength classes is mandatory to support the performance of the GSA (threaded system anchor).

eingeklebter Anker im Querholz

Application perpendicular to grain: 30° ≤ α ≤ 90°

The state of equilibrium between the force in the threaded rod and the transverse forces in the cross section of the wood is achieved via shear stress perpendicular to () the grain.
Shear stresses have a relatively small spread in the perpendicular direction (rolling shear). By contrast, a large spread may be assumed in the parallel direction. The illustration therefore shows an elliptic cone.
In most cases, the length of the rods should be chosen constructively to render proof in the wood component unnecessary. (For instance, glue-in length > 0.7*girder depth in the case of transverse connectors under tension)

Failure of the profiles rod

This mode is pursued to ensure the creation of a robust framework and to keep the dimensioning and model building as simple as possible. In this context, the hierarchy of load resistances must be controlled.

Brittle failure types cannot be excluded unless the anchor guarantees ductility. A ductility factor DS ≥ 3 is facilitated, and these are the only conditions under which the γMM ratio of 1.5 may be applied according to standard SIA 265.

In applications perpendicular to the grain, the resistance of the wood element is sufficiently high in most cases. This statement presupposes that the construction takes adequate consideration of the weak transverse tension properties of the wood. As a rule, this can be achieved through the right choice of glue-in length.
For application as a group in horizontal timber, the exact properties of the rod material must be determined in advance. The requirements under the product standards are insufficient to ensure the steel yield limit (upper threshold). The following illustration shows four exemplary diagrams of individual trials conducted by the n’H quality assurance unit. The actual yield strengths are significantly higher than the standard and vary according to diameter. To ensure that the variance is within the necessary (narrow) range, all rods in one connection should come from the same production batch.

Wood failure along the adhesive joint

The pull-out resistances in the case of GSA® Technology are based on a load-carrying model with two fracture criteria. The first describes the shear failure taking the borehole wall as reference area. In addition, compliance with the so-called expansion criterion is required.

In the load-carrying model for shear failure, the numerical value X depends on the wood type and applies exclusively to the defined geometrical ratios. The exponent α allows for the inclusion of the wood direction. Parallel to the grain, it is below 1.0, thus taking account of the non-linear course of the shear stresses.

In his thesis, Fabris has provided a detailed description of model building for the expansion criterion. According to his research, if the rod strength is too high, the rods expand to an extent that wood cannot follow. To determine the characteristic value for spruce, an εu,H of 2.4 ‰ may be used in line with the approval of the German Institute of Construction Engineering (DIBt). As a consequence, only steel types with a low yield limit can be used in parallel applications in spruce. Rods with strengths of 8.8 and above are only expedient for causing brittle failures for research purposes. The following illustration shows a typical brittle fracture with splintering.

Sprödbruch mit Aufspalten

Internal trials at n’H prove that rods with a strength of 8.8 are also suitable for practical use in hardwood. The maximum elongations of hardwoods (beech and ash) are sufficiently high.
Generally, this criterion explains why, from a certain point onwards, higher glue-in lengths do not result in higher capacity loads.

GSA®-Technologiy – characteristics

The design tables show high load resistances at relatively small edge distances and interspaces. To achieve the stated values, both operational expertise and adequate quality assurance are required.

From the beginning, GSA® Technology was developed with the aim of facilitating efficient anchor spacing. Specific anchor training is therefore part of day-to-day operations. In the respective situations, so-called ‘constriction’ serves the following purposes:
– Since the transfer of force between resin and steel is purely mechanical, the removal of the thread creates an area without adhesive bonding.
– The recessing of the effective adhesive joint increases the volume of wood that is subject to transverse tension.
– Processing to generate the fitting diameter ensures scheduled steel failure and hence ductility.
– After all, the steel is intended to yield exclusively within this defined expansion zone, without destroying the adhesive joint.

In the case of the crucial group applications parallel to the grain, this allows for the linear aggregation of the individual resistances (nef = n1.0). GSA® Technology thus creates the conditions necessary for straightforward, reliable dimensioning and perfect interaction between wood, resin and steel.

Compressive stress

The stress on glued-in threaded rods caused by pressure is principally less precarious than that caused by tension.

Wood splintering does not become a criterion until the rod threatens to buckle. In a great number of situations, constriction is not necessary. This increases the effective length of the adhesive joint, ensuring the availability of the rod’s entire stress area. In suitable constructions, the contact area of the (face) wood may be considered contributory.

Literature

Further information about glued-in threaded rods in general and GSA® Technology in specific is available in the following publications:

▪ E. Gehri, «Krafteinleitungen mittels Stahlanker» in Brettschichtholz, Weinfelden, 28. SAH-Fortbildungskurs, 1996, pp. 111-143. Order
▪ A. Bernasconi, Tragverhalten von Holz senkrecht zur Faserrichtung mit unterschiedlicher Anordnung der Schub- und Biegearmierung, Publikation 96-3, ETH Zürich, 1996. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Klassische Verbindungen neu betrachtet» in HOLZ ART 2000, Luzern, 17. Dreiländer-Holztagung, 2000, pp. 43-50. Order
▪ E. Gehri, «Leistungsfähige Verbindungen: Kriterien und Konzepte» in Verbindungstechnik im Holzbau, Weinfelden, 32. SAH-Fortbildungskurs, 2000, pp. 13-25. Order
▪ A. F. Fabris, Verbesserung der Zugeigenschaften von Bauholz parallel zur Faser mittels Verbund mit profilierten Stahlstangen, Ph.D Thesis ETH Zürich, 2001. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Ductile behaviour and group effect of glued-in steel rods» in International RILEM Symposium on Joints in Timber Structures, Stuttgart, RILEM Publications s.a.r.l., 2001, pp. 333-342. Link
▪ R. Steiger, E. Gehri und R. Widman, «Pull-out strength of axially loaded steel rods bonded in glulam parallel to the grain» in Materials and Structures 40, 2006, p. 69–78. DOI
▪ R. Widmann, R. Steiger, E. Gehri, «Pull-out strength of axially loaded steel rods bonded in glulam perpendicular to the grain» in Materials and Structures 40, 2007, p. 827–838. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Eingeklebte Anker – Anforderungen und Umsetzungen» in Band I, Prolog IV, Garmisch, 15. Internationales Holzbau-Forum, 2009. Full text
▪ E. Gehri, «High performing jointing technique using glued-in rods» Trentino: World Conference on Timber Engineering, 2010 Full text
▪ G. Tlustochowicz, E. Serrano und R. Steiger, «State-of-the-art review on timber connections with glued-in steel rods» in Materials and Structures 44, 2011, p. 997–1020. DOI
▪ Z-9.1-778, 2K-EP-Klebstoff GSA-Harz und GSA-Härter für das Einkleben von Stahlstäben in Holzbaustoffe, Berlin: Deutsches Institut für Bautechnik, 2012. Downloads
▪ R. Steiger, «In Brettschichtholz eingeklebte Gewindestangen» in Band I, Prolog IV, Garmisch, 18. Internationales Holzbau-Forum, 2012. Full text
▪ R. Steiger, E. Serrano, M. Stepinac, V. Rajčić, C. O’Neill, D. McPolin und R. Widmann, «Reinforcement with glued-in rods» in Reinforcement of Timber Structures, A state-of-the-art report, Shaker Verlag, 2015, pp. 133-159. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Verbindungstechniken für auf Laubhölzer basierte Holzwerkstoffe – mit besonderer Berücksichtigung von BSH und LVL aus Buche» in Band I, Prolog IV, Garmisch, 21. Internationales Holzbau-Forum, 2015. Full text
▪ E. Gehri, Performant connections – A must for veneer-based products, Wien: Wold Conference on Timber Engineering, 2016. Full text

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Support

GSA®-Grundlagen

Eingeklebte Gewindestangen zählen zu den leistungsfähigsten Verbindungsmitteln im modernen Ingenieurholzbau. Egal ob parallel oder rechtwinklig zur Faserrichtung eingeklebt lassen sich grosse Kräfte auf kleiner Fläche in Holzbauteile einleiten. Zusammen mit Herrn Professor Ernst Gehri forscht und entwickelt die neue Holzbau AG (n’H) seit Ende der 1990er-Jahre in diesem Bereich. Unter dem Markennamen „GSA®-Technologie“ entstehen seither verschiedenste Lösungen, die erfolgreich in diversen Holztragwerken auf der ganzen Welt eingesetzt werden.
Holz, Harz und Stahl bilden ein Verbundsystem. Folglich sind die Eigenschaften der drei Komponenten aufeinander abzustimmen. Um optimale Anschlüsse kreieren zu können, müssen gewisse Regeln eingehalten und Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein. Die Verbindung muss so ausgelegt werden, dass im Bruchzustand die Stahlstangen (duktil) versagen, damit die spröden Versagensmodi des Holzes oder des Klebstoffes ausgeschlossen bleiben.

Ausschreibungstexte

Die Baupraxis fordert oftmals eine möglichst produktneutrale Ausschreibung. Nach diesem Grundsatz wurden die Ausschreibungstexte der GSA®-Technologie ausgearbeitet. Idealerweise definieren Planende in erster Linie die benötigten Anschlusskräfte und die dazu passenden Dimensionen. Weitere Anforderungen bezüglich Material, Brandschutz und Feuchte können wesentlichen Einfluss haben und stehen folglich im Vortext der betreffenden Verbindungen. Als Ergänzung dazu können die allgemeinen Bedingungen zu Beginn des Leistungsverzeichnisses eingefügt werden.
Im Download-Bereich finden Sie unsere ganze Sammlung als Excel-Datei oder als Import für die Schnittstelle SIA 451.
→ Beispiel einer einfachen Verbindung: Hängepfosten

Anforderungen

Die aktuellen Normen für tragende Bauteile verlangen von den Tragwerksplanenden verschiedenartige Einstufungen.

Die Schadensfolgeklasse (Consequence Class 1-3) beurteilt das Schadensausmass beim Versagen einer Konstruktion. Daraus lassen sich Vorgaben für die Projektierung und Ausführung von Bauwerken ableiten. Einen anderen Aspekt stellt die Art der Beanspruchung dar (Service Category 1-2). Wie im Hochbau üblich, gelten die Angaben in diesem Dokument grundsätzlich für statische und quasi-statische Einwirkungen (Schnee, Wind, Nutzlasten in Gebäuden und Erdbeben «nicht-duktil»). Zyklische (Erdbeben «duktil») und dynamische Beanspruchungen (Ermüdung: Kräne, Verkehrslasten, etc.) können auch bei der Planung eingeklebter Gewindestangen genauere Betrachtungen erfordern. Insbesondere kann in diesen Anwendungen ein Stahl mit speziellen Eigenschaften sinnvoll oder gar notwendig sein.

In den verschiedenen Einsatzweisen müssen die Ansprüche nicht immer maximal gewählt werden. Demzufolge sollten die Vorbedingungen einer Ausschreibung in den höheren Herstellungskategorien umfangreicher und die Kontrollen konsequenter werden. Bezüglich der Herstellung von Bauteilen mit eingeklebten Gewindestangen wird deshalb die folgende Einstufungsmatrix vorgeschlagen:

Production CategoryAnforderungen an die HerstellungAnwendungssituationen
– Beispiele
PC 1geringVerstärkungen ⊥ zur Faser:
– Querdruck im Auflager
– Querzug in Anschlüssen und gebogenen Bauteilen
– Ausklinkungen
– Durchbrüche (Bemessung nach Norm)
Einzelstangen ‖ zur Faser:
– Pfette auf Pfosten
PC 2normalKleine Gruppen (n≤4) ‖ zur Faser mit ausschliesslich Normalkraft:
– Wandverankerungen
– zugfeste Streben
Komplexere Anwendungen ⊥ zur Faser:
– Holz-Beton-Verbund
– Grosse Durchbrüche (ALP)
– Schubverstärkungen
PC 3hochGruppen von Stangen ‖ zur Faser mit Normalkraft und Biegung:
– Rahmenecken
– Biegesteife Trägerstösse und Stützenfüsse
– Fachwerke

Leistungsfähigkeit

Materialien und ganze Tragwerke werden heute auf «Hochleistung» getrimmt. In der deutschen Sprache ist der Begriff «Leistung» mehrdeutig. Präziser wirkt der Ausdruck «Wirkungsgrad» als Masszahl für die Leistungsfähigkeit von Verbindungen

Hochleistungs-Konstruktionen zeichnen sich folglich dadurch aus, dass sie die gestellten Anforderungen mit verhältnismässig wenig Materialvolumen (Querschnittsfläche) erfüllen. Bezogen auf eine Verbindung stellt sich immer die Frage, um wieviel sie den Tragwiderstand oder die Steifigkeit des ungestörten Bauteils reduziert. Anschaulich lässt sich dies an einem reinen Zugstoss zeigen. Die Bruttofläche des Querschnitts mal die Zugfestigkeit ergibt den Tragwiderstand des Bauteils (100%). Dem gegenüber steht ein Tragwiderstand der Verbindungsmittelgruppe.

Leistungsfähigkeit, Wirkungsgrad

Der Wirkungsgrad η lässt sich also immer berechnen aus dem erzielten Verbindungswiderstand bezogen auf den eingesetzten Bruttoquerschnitt. Die meisten Holzverbindungen erfordern Bearbeitungen, welche den Bruttoquerschnitt schwächen. So sind im Falle von eingeklebten Gewindestangen das Bohrloch und allfällige Entlüftungsbohrungen für die Ermittlung der Netto-Querschnittsfläche in Abzug zu bringen. Die geometrischen Bedingungen der GSA®-Technologie ermöglichen einen Wirkungsgrad von ca. 85 %. Diese Schwächung im Verbindungsbereich lässt sich durch den lokalen Einsatz von höherwertigem Holz kompensieren. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt daher für die angegebenen Festigkeitsklassen «unmöglich» hohe Ausnutzungen. Es ist der Vergleich anhand einer Gruppe von vier eingeklebten Gewindestangen im Längsholz. Die Angaben beziehen sich auf die Feuchteklasse 1. Schnell ist ersichtlich, dass für wirtschaftliche Anschlussleistungen eine enge Anordnung der Anker wichtig ist. Gegenüber den Mindestmassen nach Zulassung sind teilweise grössere Rand- und Zwischenabstände nötig, um praxisgerecht zu konstruieren. Entdecken Sie dazu die Kapitel „Vordimensionierung“ in den verschiedenen GSA-Anwendungen.
(Beispiel: Fachwerke)

Vergleich der Leistungsfähigkeit

Die angegebene Leistungsfähigkeit basiert auf Versuchen an repräsentativen Verbindungen (Gruppe von eingeklebten Stäben). Dies wurde ermöglicht durch die Erforschung der folgenden Einflussgrössen:
– Winkel zwischen Stab- und Faserrichtung
– Lochdurchmesser, Stabdurchmesser, Einklebelänge, Rand- und Zwischenabstände
– Holzart, Festigkeitsklasse, Rohdichte, Holzfeuchte
– Stahlgüte und Profilierung
– Eigenschaften des Klebstoffs

Verbund von Holz, Harz und Stahl

Mit den beiden Dissertationen von Andrea Bernasconi (1996) und Alessandro Fabris (2001) wurden an der ETH Zürich wichtige Grundsteine für das Einkleben von Gewindestangen in tragende Holzbauteile gelegt.

So wurde das Verständnis geschaffen, dass die Kraftübertragung zwischen Harz und Stahl grundsätzlich mechanisch erfolgt. Geeignete Verbundharze dürfen einige Millimeter dicke Klebfugen aufweisen. Es wurde jedoch aufgezeigt, dass die Art der Stangen-Profilierung einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Tragfähigkeit hat. So erwies sich das M-Gewinde als ideal für die Kombination mit dem heutigen GSA-Harz. Neuere Untersuchungen zeigten aber, dass die Harzfestigkeit unter erhöhten Temperaturen (bis 60°C) nicht selbstverständlich ist. Deswegen gehört nicht zwingend jedes Harz, welches im kalten Kurzeitversuch funktioniert, auch gleich in die Praxisanwendung. Unter der Voraussetzung, dass der Kleber genügend leistungsfähig ist, erfolgt das Versagen an der Lochwandung (Übergang Harz zu Holz). Um hier eine möglichst leistungsfähige Verklebung zu erreichen, braucht es stehts eine sehr hohe Oberflächenqualität der Bohrlochwand und geschultes Personal für den einwandfreien Einbau.

Über die Schubspannungen und deren Verlauf wurden folgende Modellvorstellungen verfasst: Der Verlauf ist abhängig vom Verhältnis EStahl zu EHolz. Das Harz wird vereinfachend als steif angenommen. Somit entsprechen die Dehnungen des Harzes denjenigen des Stahls. Die Steifigkeitsverhältnisse führen im Längsholz zu Spannungsspitzen in den Endbereichen der Klebefuge. Aus der Verformung (Verträglichkeit) ergeben sich Querzugspannungen, welche sich ungünstig auf die Schubfestigkeit des Holzes auswirken. Dieser komplexe Spannungszustand wird als Grund angesehen, weshalb die Tragfähigkeit einer eingeklebten Stange mit zunehmender Einklebelänge nicht linear zunimmt. Eine Versenkung der wirksamen Klebefuge hinein in das Bauteil wirkt sich positiv aus, weil sich damit das auf Querzug beanspruchte Holzvolumen vergrössern lässt. Wichtig ist auch die Erkenntnis, dass die Ringzugspannungen direkt eine Funktion des Stabdurchmessers sind. Folglich lassen sich Ergebnisse von Prüfungen an kleinen Stangen nicht einfach auf grössere Durchmesser übertragen.
Bei der Anwendung im Querholz kann die Schubspannungsverteilung als gleichmässig angenommen werden. Dank dem sehr hohen Steifigkeitsverhältnis erzielt hier eine längere Stange eine grössere Tiefenwirkung.

Verbund von Holz, Harz und Stahl,
Scherspannungen, Schubspannungen, Spannungsverteilungen

Längs oder quer zur Faserrichtung

Je nachdem ob Stangen längs oder quer zur Faserrichtung eingeklebt werden, sind den verschiedenen Versagensarten unterschiedliche Bedeutungen beizumessen.

Eingeklebte Gewindestangen erzielen ihre maximale Wirkung, wenn sie möglichst axial belastet werden. Aus diesem Grund befasst sich diese Seite ausschliesslich mit Beanspruchungen in Schaftrichtung. Nach Norm SIA 265:2012 (Ziffer 6.10.2.1) ist der Tragsicherheitsnachweis in der Regel durchzuführen bezüglich:
– Versagen des profilierten Stabs
– Versagen des Klebstoffs und seines Verbunds mit dem profilierten Stab und dem Holz
– Versagen des Holzes entlang der Klebfuge
– Versagen eines Holzteils im Bereich der Verbindung

Nach Norm SIA 265 dürfen für Druckkrafteinleitungen die gleichen Werte wie für Zugkrafteinleitungen eingesetzt werden. Dieses Vorgehen liegt bestimmt auf der sicheren Seite. Die Zugbeanspruchung parallel zur Faser stellt somit die grösste Herausforderung dar.

eingeklebter Anker im Längsholz

Einsatz parallel zur Faser: 0° ≤ α < 30°

Der Gleichgewichtszustand zwischen der Kraft in der Gewindestange und den Normalspannungen im Holzquerschnitt wird erreicht über Scherspannungen parallel (‖) zur Faser.
Der Kreiskegel weist eine allseitig geringe Ausbreitung auf, weil der Schubmodul (G) viel kleiner ist als der E-Modul längs zur Faser (E0). Aus dieser Überlegung folgt, dass:
– die «aktivierbare Holzfläche» am Stangenende beschränkt ist.
– ein übergrosser Ankerabstand dies nicht verbessert.
– viele kleine Stangen einen optimalen Kraftfluss ermöglichen.
Der Nachweis des Holz-Nettoquerschnitts am Ende der Stangen ist stehts zu führen. Hier ist in vielen Fällen der Einsatz höherer Festigkeitsklassen zwingend, um der Leistungsfähigkeit der GSA standhalten zu können

eingeklebter Anker im Querholz

Einsatz quer zur Faser: 30° ≤ α ≤ 90°

Der Gleichgewichtszustand zwischen der Kraft in der Gewindestange und den Querkräften im Holzquerschnitt wird erreicht über Scherspannungen quer () zur Faser.
Die Scherspannungen erreichen in Querrichtung (Rollschub) eine relativ geringe Ausbreitung. In Faserrichtung darf hingegen von einer grossen Ausbreitung ausgegangen werden. Die Abbildung zeigt deshalb einen elliptischen Kegel.
Die Länge der Stangen ist meistens konstruktiv zu wählen, damit sich Nachweise im Holzteil erübrigen. (beispielsweise Einklebelänge > 0.7*Trägerhöhe im Falle von Queranschlüssen auf Zug)

Versagen des profilierten Stabs

Dieser Modus wird angestrebt, damit ein robustes Tragwerk entsteht und um die Bemessung und Modellbildung möglichst simpel zu halten. Die Hierarchie der Tragwiderstände muss dabei beherrscht werden.

Hierarchie der Tragwiderstände, duktiles Versagen, Duktilität im Holzbau

Nur wenn die Duktilität durch den Anker gewährleistet ist, können die spröden Versagensarten ausgeschlossen werden. Dies ermöglicht ein Duktilitätsmass DS ≥ 3 und nur so darf nach Norm SIA 265 der Verhältniswert γMM von 1.5 angesetzt werden.

In Anwendungen quer zur Faser, ist der Widerstand des Holzelements meistens genügend hoch. Diese Aussage setzt voraus, dass die Konstruktion den schwachen Querzug-Eigenschaften des Holzes angemessen begegnet. Das lässt sich in der Regel durch die richtige Wahl der Einklebelänge erreichen.
Für den Einsatz als Gruppe im Längsholz sind die Eigenschaften des Stangenmaterials vorgängig präzise zu ermitteln. Die Vorgaben der Produktnormen reichen nicht aus, um das Stahlfliessen (oberer Grenzwert) sicherzustellen. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt vier exemplarische Diagramme von Einzelprüfungen aus der n’H-Qualitätssicherung. Die tatsächlichen Streckgrenzen liegen deutlich über der Norm und sind je nach Durchmesser verschieden. Damit die Streuung im nötigen (engen) Rahmen liegt, sollten alle Stangen eines Anschlusses aus derselben Produktionscharge stammen.

Spannungs-Verformungs-Diagramme von Gewindestangen

Versagen des Holzes entlang der Klebfuge

Die Ausziehwiderstände für die GSA-Technologie basieren auf einem Tragmodell mit zwei Bruchkriterien. Das erste beschreibt das Scherversagen mit der Bohrloch-Wandung als Bezugsfläche. Zusätzlich wird die Einhaltung des sogenannten Dehnkriteriums gefordert.

Beim Tragmodell für das Scherversagen wird der Zahlenwert X nach der Holzart festgelegt und ist nur gültig für die bestimmten geometrischen Verhältnisse. Mit dem Exponenten α lässt sich die Holzorientierung berücksichtigen. Parallel zur Faser ist er kleiner als 1.0 und trägt so dem nicht-linearen Verlauf der Scherspannungen Rechnung.

Tragmodell für ins Holz eingeklebte Gewindestangen

Die Modellbildung zum Dehnkriterium legte Fabris in seiner Dissertation detailliert dar. Bei zu hoher Stangenfestigkeit treten demnach Stahldehnungen auf, welche das umgebende Holz nicht mehr mitmacht. Zur Bestimmung des charakteristischen Werts für Fichte darf nach DIBt-Zulassung εu,H mit 2.4 ‰ angesetzt werden. Konsequenz davon ist, dass für die Anwendung in Fichte längs nur Stähle mit niedriger Fliessgrenze praktisch einsetzbar sind. Stangen der Festigkeit 8.8 und höher machen nur Sinn, um zu Untersuchungszwecken die spröden Versagensformen zu provozieren. Das folgende Bild zeigt einen typischen Sprödbruch mit Aufspalten.

Sprödbruch mit Aufspalten

Die internen Versuche der n’H beweisen, dass im Laubholz auch die Stangen mit FK 8.8 in der Praxis einsetzbar sind. Die Bruchdehnungen von Laubhölzern (Buche und Esche) liegen dafür hoch genug.
Generell erklärt dieses Kriterium, weshalb ab einem bestimmten Punkt die Vergrösserung der Einklebelänge keine Erhöhung der Traglast mehr bringt.

Merkmale der GSA-Technologie

Die Bemessungstabellen enthalten hohe Tragwiderstände bei relativ kleinen Rand- und Zwischenabständen. Damit die angegebenen Werte erreicht werden, ist nebst dem betrieblichen Knowhow eine adäquate Qualitätssicherung erforderlich.

Die GSA®-Technologie wurde von Beginn weg entwickelt, um wirtschaftliche Ankerabstände zu ermöglichen. Deshalb gehört die spezielle Ankerausbildung zur täglichen Praxis. Die sogenannte Einschnürung dient in den entsprechenden Situationen den folgenden Zwecken:
– Da die Kraftübertragung zwischen Harz und Stahl rein mechanisch erfolgt, wird durch das Entfernern des Gewindes ein Bereich ohne Klebeverbund geschaffen.
– Mit der Versenkung der wirksamen Klebefuge vergrössert sich das auf Querzug beanspruchte Holzvolumen.
– Durch die Bearbeitung auf den passenden Durchmesser wird das planmässige Stahlversagen und damit die Duktilität sichergestellt.
– Schliesslich soll der Stahl nur in diesem definierten Dehnbereich fliessen, ohne die Klebefuge zu zerstören.

Einschnürung, Versenkung, GSA-Technologie

Dies erlaubt in den so wichtigen Gruppen-Anwendungen parallel zur Faser die lineare Aufsummierung der Einzelwiderstände (nef = n1.0). Damit schafft die GSA®-Technologie die Voraussetzung für eine einfache und sichere Bemessung und ein perfektes Zusammenspiel von Holz, Harz und Stahl.

Druckbeanspruchung

Die Belastung von eingeklebten Gewindestangen auf Druck ist grundsätzlich weniger heikel als jene auf Zug.

Das Aufspalten des Holzes wird erst zum Kriterium, wenn die Stange auszuknicken droht. In sehr vielen Situationen kann auf die Einschnürung verzichtet werden. Damit erhöht sich die wirksame Klebfugenlänge und es steht der gesamte Spannungsquerschnitt der Stange zur Verfügung. Bei geeigneter Konstruktion darf die Kontaktfläche des (Stirn-)Holzes als mitwirkend betrachtet werden.

Literaturverzeichnis

Weiterführende Informationen zu eingeklebten Gewindestangen im Allgemeinen und zur GSA-Technologie im Speziellen sind in folgenden Publikationen zu finden:

▪ E. Gehri, «Krafteinleitungen mittels Stahlanker» in Brettschichtholz, Weinfelden, 28. SAH-Fortbildungskurs, 1996, pp. 111-143. Bestellung
▪ A. Bernasconi, Tragverhalten von Holz senkrecht zur Faserrichtung mit unterschiedlicher Anordnung der Schub- und Biegearmierung, Publikation 96-3, ETH Zürich, 1996. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Klassische Verbindungen neu betrachtet» in HOLZ ART 2000, Luzern, 17. Dreiländer-Holztagung, 2000, pp. 43-50. Bestellung
▪ E. Gehri, «Leistungsfähige Verbindungen: Kriterien und Konzepte» in Verbindungstechnik im Holzbau, Weinfelden, 32. SAH-Fortbildungskurs, 2000, pp. 13-25. Bestellung
▪ A. F. Fabris, Verbesserung der Zugeigenschaften von Bauholz parallel zur Faser mittels Verbund mit profilierten Stahlstangen, Ph.D Thesis ETH Zürich, 2001. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Ductile behaviour and group effect of glued-in steel rods» in International RILEM Symposium on Joints in Timber Structures, Stuttgart, RILEM Publications s.a.r.l., 2001, pp. 333-342. Link
▪ R. Steiger, E. Gehri und R. Widman, «Pull-out strength of axially loaded steel rods bonded in glulam parallel to the grain» in Materials and Structures 40, 2006, p. 69–78. DOI
▪ R. Widmann, R. Steiger, E. Gehri, «Pull-out strength of axially loaded steel rods bonded in glulam perpendicular to the grain» in Materials and Structures 40, 2007, p. 827–838. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Eingeklebte Anker – Anforderungen und Umsetzungen» in Band I, Prolog IV, Garmisch, 15. Internationales Holzbau-Forum, 2009. Volltext
▪ E. Gehri, «High performing jointing technique using glued-in rods» Trentino: World Conference on Timber Engineering, 2010 Volltext
▪ G. Tlustochowicz, E. Serrano und R. Steiger, «State-of-the-art review on timber connections with glued-in steel rods» in Materials and Structures 44, 2011, p. 997–1020. DOI
▪ Z-9.1-778, 2K-EP-Klebstoff GSA-Harz und GSA-Härter für das Einkleben von Stahlstäben in Holzbaustoffe, Berlin: Deutsches Institut für Bautechnik, 2012. Downloads
▪ R. Steiger, «In Brettschichtholz eingeklebte Gewindestangen» in Band I, Prolog IV, Garmisch, 18. Internationales Holzbau-Forum, 2012. Volltext
▪ R. Steiger, E. Serrano, M. Stepinac, V. Rajčić, C. O’Neill, D. McPolin und R. Widmann, «Reinforcement with glued-in rods» in Reinforcement of Timber Structures, A state-of-the-art report, Shaker Verlag, 2015, pp. 133-159. DOI
▪ E. Gehri, «Verbindungstechniken für auf Laubhölzer basierte Holzwerkstoffe – mit besonderer Berücksichtigung von BSH und LVL aus Buche» in Band I, Prolog IV, Garmisch, 21. Internationales Holzbau-Forum, 2015. Volltext
▪ E. Gehri, Performant connections – A must for veneer-based products, Wien: Wold Conference on Timber Engineering, 2016. Volltext

Für Fragen stehen wir gerne zur Verfügung. Support